Medical Interpreter Training Course

Now enrolling in 100% online classes

View Course Schedules

About Medical Interpreter Training Course

This is a 60-hour online course that includes live-proctored classes and independent home study for individuals with bi-lingual or multi-lingual fluency who would like to become professional medical interpreters. The course is delivered in synchronous and asynchronous formats.

Our comprehensive training is based on a curriculum that was established at Language Bank in 2009. After many years of teaching this course at our headquarters in New Hampshire and Massachusetts, we are now offering it online!

Our training curriculum exceeds the minimum 40-hour of training required by the National Board of Certification for Medical Interpreters (NBCMI) and the Certification Commission for Healthcare Interpreters (CCHI). The curriculum uses the demand control schema (DSC) method during realistic role-plays and lively discussions giving students the opportunity to develop the skills and knowledge base they need to deliver accurate and complete interpretation in health care and social service settings. Through this training, participants will have the opportunity to work on medical vocabulary with a language-specific coach (as long as there is a coach available for a particular language). This training is taught by our own highly experienced trainers who take pride in delivering a quality educational program.

Students will finish the course with the tools they need to begin successful careers as professional medical interpreters. Students who attend all class sessions and pass the final assessments will receive a certificate of proficiency

Course Details

This is a 60-hour program and attendance to all LIVE, online classes is mandatory.

All students must attend one advising/orientation session prior to starting the course. This is a live, two-hour online session. Please see the full course schedule below.

There will be a $100 registration fee due at the time of registration.

Accepted candidates must pay the tuition fee ($800, not including the registration fee) in full by the established due date to secure their spot for the session. Tuition reimbursement may be available. Please contact us for eligibility based on spoken language(s) and your residential location

At this time, Language Bank is not accepting financial aid for course tuition.

Students must have access to a computer with reliable internet, a microphone, sound, and a camera during the course.

Please refer to our Training Course FAQs for more information.


Registration Process

Step 1: Complete the Registration Form

While completing the registration form, you will be asked to submit the $100 registration fee.

Step 2: Check Your Email

After submitting the registration form and submitting the registration fee, you will receive an email with the course details, including the orientation session link.

Register Here

Winter '22 Session

Registration Closed on February 7, 2022

Orientation Session (choose one):

  • Feb 9 – 10 AM – 12:00 PM
  • Feb 9 – 2 PM – 4:00 PM

Winter 2022 Course Schedule (attend all):

  • Monday, February 28 – 2:00 PM – 4:00 PM
  • Thursday, March 3 – 2:00 PM – 4:00 PM
  • Monday, March 7 – 2:00 PM – 4:00 PM
  • Thursday, March 10 – 2:00 PM – 5:00 PM
  • Monday, March 14 – 2:00 PM – 5:00 PM
  • Thursday, March 17 – TBD
  • Monday, March 21 – 2:00 PM – 4:00 PM
  • Thursday, March 24 – 2:00 PM – 4:00 PM
  • Monday, March 28 – TBD
  • Thursday, March 31 – 2:00 PM – 4:00 PM
  • Monday, April 4 – 2:00 PM – 5:00 PM
  • Thursday, April 7 – TBD
  • Monday, April 11 – TBD
  • Thursday, April 14 – 2:00 PM – 4:00 PM

Spring '22 Session

Last day to register: April 12, 2022

Mandatory Orientation Session (pick one): April 18, 2022 10-12:00 PM or 2-4:00 PM

Training dates/times:

Monday, May 9, 2022 2:00 PM – 4:00 PM
Thursday, May 12, 2022 2:00 PM – 4:00 PM
Monday, May 16, 2022 2:00 PM – 4:00 PM
Thursday, May 19, 2022 2:00 PM – 5:00 PM
Monday, May 23, 2022 2:00 PM – 5:00 PM
Thursday, May 26, 2022 TBD
Thursday, June 2, 2022 2:00 PM – 4:00 PM
Monday, June 6, 2022 2:00 PM – 4:00 PM
Thursday, June 9, 2022 TBD
Monday, June 13, 2022 2:00 PM – 4:00 PM
Thursday, June 16, 2022 2:00 PM – 5:00 PM
Monday, June 20, 2022 TBD
Thursday, June 23, 2022 TBD
Monday, June 27, 2022 2:00 PM – 4:00 PM

Summer '22 Session

Last day to register: August 10, 2022

Mandatory Orientation Session (pick one): August 18, 2022 10-12:00 PM or 2-4:00 PM

Training dates/times:

Thursday, September 8, 2022 2:00 PM – 4:00 PM
Monday, September 12, 2022 2:00 PM – 4:00 PM
Thursday, September 15, 2022 2:00 PM – 4:00 PM
Monday, September 19, 2022 2:00 PM – 5:00 PM
Thursday, September 22, 2022 2:00 PM – 5:00 PM
Monday, September 26, 2022 TBD
Thursday, September 29, 2022 2:00 PM – 4:00 PM
Monday, October 3, 2022 2:00 PM – 4:00 PM
Thursday, October 6, 2022 TBD
Monday, October 10, 2022 2:00 PM – 4:00 PM
Thursday, October 13, 2022 2:00 PM – 5:00 PM
Monday, October 17, 2022 TBD
Thursday, October 20, 2022 TBD
Monday, October 24, 2022 2:00 PM – 4:00 PM

Fall '22 Session

Last day to register: October 5, 2022

Mandatory Orientation Session (pick one): October 12, 2022 10-12:00 PM or 2-4:00 PM

Training dates/times:

Thursday, November 3, 2022 2:00 PM – 4:00 PM
Monday, November 7, 2022 2:00 PM – 4:00 PM
Thursday, November 10, 2022 2:00 PM – 4:00 PM
Monday, November 14, 2022 2:00 PM – 5:00 PM
Thursday, November 17, 2022 2:00 PM – 5:00 PM
Monday, November 21, 2022 TBD
Monday, November 28, 2022 2:00 PM – 4:00 PM
Thursday, December 1, 2022 2:00 PM – 4:00 PM
Monday, December 5, 2022 TBD
Thursday, December 8, 2022 2:00 PM – 4:00 PM
Monday, December 12, 2022 2:00 PM – 5:00 PM
Thursday, December 15, 2022 TBD
Monday, December 19, 2022 TBD
Thursday, December 22, 2022 2:00 PM – 4:00 PM

Worldwide Learn 100% Remote, from Anywhere in the World

Our 100% remote, online training course is open to individuals from around the world! With an internet connection, camera, and microphone, you can participate in our live, instructor-led online trainings entirely from home. Our instructors are based at the Language Bank headquarters in New Hampshire, USA.

The Language Bank training course is licensed by the New Hampshire Department of Education as a postsecondary education program. License Number: LAMA-221.

Translation

Key Training Topics

  • Active listening
  • Sight translation skills
  • Consecutive interpreting skills
  • Common interpreting errors
  • Elements of communication, shadowing and reflection of emotion
  • NCIHC Code of Ethics
  • IMIA Standards of Practice
  • Culture in medical setting/techniques for culture brokering
  • Body systems, medical diagnosis, and procedures
  • Medical terminology
  • Roots, prefixes, and suffixes used in medical terminology
  • Basic skills on note taking
  • Language-specific coaches
  • Interpreter roles and responsibilities
  • Interpreting techniques
Interpreter Training